De La Soul is an American hip hop trio formed in 1987 on Long Island, New York.[2] The band is best known for their eclectic sampling, quirky lyrics, and their contributions to the evolution of the jazz rap and alternative hip hop subgenres. The members are Posdnuos, Dave and Maseo. The three formed the group in high school and caught the attention of producer Prince Paul with a demo tape of the song “Plug Tunin'”. With its playful wordplay, innovative sampling, and witty skits, the band’s debut album, 3 Feet High and Rising, has been called “a hip hop masterpiece.”

It is the band’s biggest commercial success to date, with their subsequent albums selling progressively less, despite receiving high praise from critics. They were influential in the early stages of rapper/actor Mos Def’s career, and are a core part of the Spitkicker collective. They are the second longest standing Native Tongues Posse group, after the Jungle Brothers. In 2006, the group won a Grammy for their collaboration with Gorillaz on the single “Feel Good Inc.”

In early 2015, they announced plans to release a Kickstarter-funded upcoming 9th studio album And The Anonymous Nobody in September 2015. The album tracks are said to be the result of multiple improvised jam sessions. The album will also feature guest appearances from artists such as Damon Albarn, Little Dragon, David Byrne and 2 Chainz

De La Soul have confirmed that they are again collaborating with Prince Paul and have “a lot” of music on the way, including the tentatively named eighth album, You’re Welcome. In March 2012, they reported that Maseo was working on beats for two new albums, one sample based, and one with a thirteen piece band.

De La Soul have recently released Get Away ft The Spirit of Wu which is a musical attack on the formulaic creation of contemporary Hip Hop.The track is the first of a series De La Soul will release as part of their release one track per month in 2013.

In March 2015, De La Soul created a Kickstarter to help fund their upcoming album. It surpassed the original goal of $110,000 in under ten hours. They announced in November 2015 that the release date for their ninth studio album, And the Anonymous Nobody, has been scheduled to April 26, 2016 They had pushed the album back to August 26th, and had released a 4-track EP called For Your Pain & Suffering[19]. The reason for the album delay was because of getting permission for guest artists to appear on the album[19]. They commented “We’re just so happy to get you guys this music, finally.”. The album’s first single, “Pain”, features Snoop Dogg and is due to be released in the summer